Goodbye from The Malaysian Insider


March 14, 2106

To Jahabar, Kay Tat and all my friends at The Malaysian Insider,

Ho Kay Tat and Jahabar Sadiq

I am saddened to read your announcement that The Malaysian Insider will cease its operations by midnight today. Since 2008, The Malaysian Insider has brought together a fine group of cyber-journalists and guest columnists to deliver news, commentaries, and views to Malaysians and others around the world.

To me, you and your associates represent the finest group of committed Malaysians of the present generation  who felt strongly about our country and who had  never failed to speak the truth to power. I have enjoyed reading The Malaysian Insider and thank you for allowing me to feature your postings on my blog http://www.dinmerican.wordpress.com.

I am also humbled that The Malaysian Insider from time to time saw it fit to feature some of my writings. You will be missed but I know you that you will be back in one form or another in the future because our fight for change is far from over. Best wishes from Phnom Penh.–Din Merican

Friends, Malaysians and Free Men Everywhere-Goodbye from The Malaysian Insider

by Jahabar Sadiq, EDITOR

The Malaysian Insider ceases publication at midnight today.

The Malaysian Insider ceases publication at midnight today. – The Malaysian Insider pic by Jahabar Sadiq, March 14, 2016.

The Malaysian Insider pic by Jahabar Sadiq, March 14, 2016.

Goodbye readers from near and far, and those reading us in Malaysia despite the government block.

The Edge Media Group has decided to shut down The Malaysian Insider from midnight today, for commercial reasons. Perhaps it is fitting that we go offline at the start of the Ides of March.

I hope we have served you well since our first day of going live on February 25, 2008. And I hope others will continue to serve you in our absence.

We worked as impartial journalists to inform Malaysians and other readers so that they make informed decisions. We worked to make all voices heard in this marketplace of ideas.

But our work in The Malaysian Insider has now come to an end in a Malaysia that more than ever requires more clarity, transparency and information.

All said and done, I want to thank everyone of you in Malaysia, around the world, and those who have been with The Malaysian Insider from day one until now for your support, well wishes and criticism during these fantastic eight years and 18 days of The Malaysian Insider.

I won’t put down my pen, I won’t lay down my camera, I won’t shut up and I won’t be blinkered or turn a deaf ear to what goes on in Malaysia and the world. And I urge all of you to do the same.

And I shall always be the biggest fan of this news portal called The Malaysian Insider.

Goodbye.

The Editor

 

15 thoughts on “Goodbye from The Malaysian Insider

  1. One down now who is to be next?
    _______________
    You, my sikh brother will be next for being a cynic.–Din Merican

  2. Professional “lady of the night” RPK (Rosmah-Polishing Kamaruddin) claims this was payback for TMI being part of the fantasy he calls the “ANC” (Anti-Najib Campaign.)

    But then, most Malaysians are pro-ANC.

    Anyway, never trust the word of an ageing conman who is entering the last leg of his life with not much dignity left. I’d rather salute TMI for actually having some courage, and the yapping of paid lapdogs can’t diminish that.

    The TMI folks will resurface, in a different form, sooner or later.

  3. It’s regrettable but nevertheless I believe TMI will make a come back when these rogues of BN Government find their exit hopefully in GE14.

    Thank you TMI for your great contribution to readers of this country. You have acted without fear or favor for which you are paying for it.

  4. Meanwhile the old fox is on fine form:

    “4. The free press in Malaysia says Najib is getting stronger and more people are supporting him. Just look at the pictures of the people supporting him. They all wear red shirts and some UMNO leaders show placards with ”Solidariti bersama Najib”.

    5. Obviously their show of support is spontaneous, so spontaneous that they immediately bought the red shirts and printed the “Solidarity with Najib” cards in time for the photographers.”

    Ha ha!

    Ominously:

    “13. The alternative is to wait for the National Security Council Act to be signed by the Agong or to wait for one month if he doesn’t, when the Act would be enforceable. Then Najib can arrest and detain without trial this pesky ex-PM. I am getting messages that this is what awaits me if I don’t cease and desist, I don’t tone down.”

    http://chedet.cc/?p=2009

    Might happen, actually.

  5. A sad day indeed for all those who care for a free online media like TMl. The country is going down the drain yet they think everything is honky dory. We’re a goner so long as Umno is in the driving seat.

  6. What do you expect after what the Edge pulled with that Justo business. Pro Najib forces had it for TMI for some time and let’s not talk about those bloggers who accused TMI of being an “Evangelists Rag”.

    That’s the Star’s agenda by the way. Another Story another time.

    I wish all the best to Jahabar and the rest of the crew of TMI.

    Here are two of my favourite Edward R . Murrow quotes to mark the occasion.

    “Our major obligation is not to mistake slogans for solutions.”

    “To be persuasive we must be believable;
    to be believable we must be creditable;
    to be credible we must be truthful.”

  7. Dear Mr J Sadiq,

    I read TMI for over 7 year. I thoroughly enjoyed it and learn something new each time I open the link.

    It is sad and unfortunate that the association has to end this way, especially when one had put in over 2500 comments and had featured numerous pieces that are of public and national intetests, currently.

    Thank you, Jahabar and TMI,( and Din too) in providing the space and opportunity for me and readers to freely and responsibly express their views and aspirations.in the undivided interests of our country.

    I wish you and your colleagues the best in your new endeavor. Regards– KLLau

  8. Although TMI was among the most widely read web news portal over here, i think the ‘commercialization’ aspect of it, was never emphasized enough by the owners. It should have been viable if more advertorial content was included. In the end it was sheer poor business sense – nothing more, nothing less.

    I think all journos must really go for entrepreneurship programmes and come off their high horse (camel?) of concentrating on ‘truthful’ and ‘accurate’ reporting. All of us have agendas, but it’s as important to cultivate a sense of ‘commercial’ urgency. Profits rule and value added break-even analysis done periodically, otherwise why waste all those man-hours in vain?

    Hopeless or was it helpless management? The CFO ought to be hung out to dry..

  9. Having read this I believed it was extremely enlightening. I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this informative article together. I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!
    _______________
    Thanks. You are welcome to join our company.–Din Merican.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.