14 thoughts on “Fortis Atque Fidelis: Penang Free School (PFS) has many miles to go towards 2016

  1. Calling all Old Frees, your comments are welcome. I am proud to be a student at this great institution. I object to Penang Free School being renamed “Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Penang Free” by the Ministry of Education. May my alma mater, Penang Free Schoo, continue to develop citizens of character and integrity. –Din Merican, PFS Class of 1959.

  2. I was not a student of PFS but would be proud to have been one. I fully support the attempt to preserve the name Penang Free School.

    our politicians of today have no class folks.

  3. Dato, I am too proud to be a student at Penang Free School. Looking foward to 2016. Muhaimin, PFS class of 99

  4. Heard so much of PFS during my formative years. It was in a class of its own then. Wonder what it is today? Whatever it is changing the name to Sekolah Menengah so-and-so is no-no. The monkeys in Putrajaya are so good at this but are clueless about improving the education system.

  5. I am a proud Old Free but I am sad to see the deterioration of education in both our school and in Malaysia. I hope something can be done to improve the standard to our school first.

    Anwar – batch of 68

  6. I am an Old Frees of class 1975 – 1979. So were my brother and sister. Great school. Goon Fatt Chee was the HM then. Hockey champions, rugby champions, Great MCE results, great friends. Wonder where all my friends are from Form 5 Science 1? Syed Zainal Abidin is one (of Proton).

    • I was in PFS between 1975 to 1977. My sister was there too doing form 6. I know Joe Sidek was in my sister’s class.
      I also remembered our so called cool teacher, Lim Guan Hoe

  7. I know one Bendover Singh who is from Free school. The only reason why his dad enlisted him in that school in the ’50s was his dad thought it was free but ended up paying $5 a month.
    _________
    There were a lot of Singhs at Free School; they were outstanding individuas academically and excelled in sports (hockey and cricket). After Mr J M B Hughes, we had Mr Tagar Singh as PFS Headmaster. He was a dedicated teacher and an excellent administrator. –Din Merican

  8. How naive could we be then. I thought being in PFS was free ‘cuz we had to pay a RM5 monthly fee in our mission school. This went on until someone told us otherwise. Thanks for reminding, Bean.

  9. PFS is an integral part of Penang and Malaysia’s history. It is but a school but do not loose sight of it being an institution that has helped build a foundation for Malaysia to grow upon. PFS instills into its students community spirit, excellence and fortitude – a philosophy that has spilled into the lives of many who are in a position to contribute to Malaysia. As long as this is what PFS stands for, why tamper with the name and a culture developed over many years?

    There is obviously loyalty and pride in being part of PFS from all who were schooled there. I vote that we should leave the name alone so it can inspire the future generations.
    _______________
    Thanks for your support. I will talk to new President of OFA, Selangor on the matter. –Din Merican

  10. Evening to all brothers of Penang Free School.
    Just my luck to come across this blog while doing some research on PFS.
    Many Old Frees are concern about the deterioration of our alma mater. With the current HM, whose an Old Free himself has improved the school academic achievements.
    I remember those days, when someone asked which school are you from, we would proudly & loudly reply “PENANG FREE SCHOOL”. Today, with only a whisper of ‘penang free school”.
    We are considering to apply heritage status for PFS, hence maintaining the name Penang Free School.
    We have a long way to go and we hope more Old Frees would come forward to contribute. I hope to meet everyone here when we celebrate our Bicentenary in 2016.

    Wee Seong
    For The Brave & For The True
    _______________
    Old Frees Association of Selangor can help you in your campaign. –Din Merican, PFS Class of 1959. Fortis Atque Fidelis.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.