Selamat Hari Raya-2017


June 21, 2017

Selamat Hari Raya Aidil Fitri 2017

 

Dr Kamsiah Haider and I wish all our friends, colleagues, associates and readers of this blog Eid Mubarak. I have tried be fair and objective and provide a forum for meaningful and free exchange of views and ideas to promote understanding among members of the international community.

Image result for eid mubarak 2017

I devoted my time to bring to you on a timely basis articles, book reviews, commentaries and reports which can stimulate our thinking on issues of the day and enable us to express our views without fear or favour. There is nothing to Fear, but FEAR itself. Thank you for your contributions to my lifelong education. In the process, I have made a lot of cyber-pals.

Politicians in power in Malaysia, members of the ruling elite and their supporters do not like what I say.  They want to hear praises and are prepared to buy accolades. Money? What the heck. That is not what I am not prepared to do, but I will acknowledge if they do a good job for my country.  It is unfortunate that despite my best efforts I have not had the opportunity to compliment Prime Minister Najib Razak, and his cabinet colleagues and their supporters.There are reasons to be critical instead about corruption and abuses of power.

I do not seek to be popular. My purpose is to be “truthful,  factual, not neutral” (to quote my favorite CNN host, Christiane Amanpour). The fact that this blog has a big following assures me that it is okay to disagree. It is a source of encouragement for me to keep it going. Our best wishes.–Dr. Kamsiah and Din Merican

19 thoughts on “Selamat Hari Raya-2017

  1. Yes, Selamat Hari Raya Aidil Fitri to all Muslims.

    I enjoy the Ramadan bazaars near my home.
    Another Malaysian institution 🙂

  2. Selamat hari raya to u and family din. Maaf zahir dan batin and happy holidays to the rest. Stay safe on the roads

  3. Thanks Din for all your efforts to “educate” many of us in the happenings of this world- your introduction to books is most valuable.
    Selamat Hari Raya to you and family. Regards from an old friend, kanason.

  4. Dear Din, thanks for your continuing efforts to keep us- most Malaysians at least-alert to the happenings to the world around us. And more importantly -for bringing to our notice to what is happening in our beloved Malaysia. I have enjoyed reading the introductions to the many books that i one should read to help understand our world. May you continue with you good efforts. Selamat Hari Raya to you and family, kanason. ________________________________

  5. Selamat Hari Raya Encik Din and to your lovely wife. God bless you both on this holy and blessed festival.

  6. Selamat Hari Raya to Din and Dr. Kamsiah, and all my Malaysian friends. Semper, what’s cooking? I’m coming over for dinner.

    • La Moy, not cooking anything as will be attending MIFNA Hari Raya gathering. There’s also the MPBA Raya gathering in the Bay area. It’s worth attending as the group is a great representation of Malaysia.

    • Btw LaMoy the Malaysian Ambassador will be in attendance to meet Malaysians andbfriends of Malaysia at the Malaysian Professional and Business Assoc. Raya bash.

    • Btw LaMoy the Malaysian Ambassador will be in attendance to meet Malaysians andbfriends of Malaysia at the Malaysian Professional and Business Assoc. Raya bash.

    • Btw LaMoy the Malaysian Ambassador will be in attendance to meet Malaysians andbfriends of Malaysia at the Malaysian Professional and Business Assoc. Raya bash.

    • Unfortunately I’ve a prearranged fund raising golf tournament on that same day July 2. As an organizer I’ll be occupied for the whole day.

  7. Watch what happens this Raya for Najib and UMNO messaging. If they go the distance make use the Raya to gain political milleage and attack critics and opposition or gain PAS voters, you know the desperation is palpable. Najib is a weakling and cannot help himself.

  8. SELAMAT HARI RAYA to our Esteemed blogger , Din Merican & family…..

    May our Malaysian future be blessed…// – it will be blessed on justice, fairness & Equity …..

  9. Happy Hari Raya and Holidays to all Muslims, and non- Muslims, coming together in sharing the joy and festivity , in the Malaysian spirit —kllau.

Leave a Reply

