The Passing of my friend Manan Othman


January 19, 2017

The Passing of my friend Manan Othman

by Bernama/www,malaysiakini.com

Image result for Othman Manan

COMMENT: Al-Fatihah. I am deeply saddened to learn this morning via Malaysiakini-– the web- paper I follow closely daily without fail for its bold, fair, accurate and timely reporting– of the passing of my friend Manan Othman  (pic above).

I am always affected when men and women of my generation die. This is because I am reminded on my own mortality.  At the same time, their passing urges me to use my remaining years in the service of humanity, in the pursuit of peace, stability and economic and intellectual development in ASEAN and Cambodia. For that, most people, especially cynics, will say that I am a dreamer. Anyway, here I am doing my bit at The Techo Sen School of Government and Internati0nal Relations, The University of Cambodia in Phnom Penh.

Image result for din merican and dr. kamsiah haider

I knew Manan in the 1970s. At that time, he was with SEDC Terengganu. He rose to prominence in Malaysian politics as a member of UMNO 1946. Manan got his chance at public office when Tun Hussein Onn was our Prime Minister. He was a loyal supporter of YBM Tan Sri Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah and because of that he paid a heavy political price for siding with Ku Li.

After 1987 when Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad consolidated power after beating Ku Li for the Presidency of UMNO, and formed UMNO Baru, Manan was sidelined. As a result, we lost an able UMNO Minister for good. All UMNO ministers today with the exception of Dato Seri Mustapha Mohamed, our MITI Minister, pale in comparison.

My wife Datin Dr. Kamsiah Haider and I wish to convey our deepest c0ndolences to his widow, Datin Nora Abu Hassan,  their three children and eight grandchildren on his passing. Fond farewell, Manan, and thanks for your friendship and generous counsel.–Din Merican

Bernama reports:

Former Agriculture Minister Abdul Manan Othman died while undergoing treatment for a lung infection at the Gleneagles Hospital, Ampang, at 7.12pm yesterday. He was 81.

His eldest son, Nadzrin, 53, said his father was admitted to the hospital on Monday after falling unconscious.

Speaking to Bernama when met at his residence in Desa Sri Hartamas, Kuala Lumpur, Nadzrin said the funeral prayers would be held at Masjid Bukit Damansara before he was laid to rest at the Bukit Kiara Muslim cemetery at 10am today.

Abdul Manan was Agriculture Minister from 1980 to 1984 and had held the posts of Deputy Primary Enterprises Minister, Deputy Trade and Industry Minister and Primary Enterprises Minister before that.

He leaves behind wife Nora Abu Hassan, 78, three children and eight grandchildren.

Bernama

 

6 thoughts on “The Passing of my friend Manan Othman

  1. Wasn’t he a partner in the law firm of Tunku Zuhri, Manan and Abdullah? Al Fatihah
    _________________
    Yes, indeed. Your memory is very good, Orang Malaya.To me, he was the dynamic force behind SEDC Terengganu.–Din Merican

  2. Dato Din, the world is slightly better because of your presence.
    _________________
    That’s too kind, katasayang. I assume all along in my journey that I was put into this world to serve. Like my late mother, I will continue to serve without regard for colour, religion or creed. And like my mom, I like and enjoy people with a strong bias for the poor, oppressed, and dispossessed. Adversity taught me to be resilient. There is no time for the rich, arrogant, high and mighty and the self absorbed and selfish for me. As far as I am concerned they can stew in their own juice.

    The world is a mixed bag of things. Plato, Aristole, Thucydides, Thomas Hobbes, Machiavelli, Shakespeare, Charles Dickens, George Bernard Shaw, Virginia Woolf,George Orwell, Upton Sinclair, James Baldwin, and others have written about them. I just came into this world to serve and hope to go back into eternity having done my little bit. I will leave no money, no property and no problems for my children and grandchildren. Life is intended to be simple and I want to keep it that way.–Din Merican

    • Thanks, Albert. You are most kind. Each of us has power in our hands to make a difference. But there are risks when you go against popular opinion/conventional wisdom. So each of us must decide whether the risk is worth taking. I am not someone who is politically correct. I am unafraid to speak my mind.Imagine what a problem I gave my late Mom when I was a kid. I was a restless, stubborn, disobedient, and irritating son who disagreed with her most of the time.–Din Merican

  3. Very nice guy. I just joined the govt when he was a minister and like any junior office then, my task was to prepare answers for questions raised in parliament. Never met such a humble, knowledgeable minister after that. Taught me a lot about English…..RIP honorable sir.

  4. what a coincidence I met Dato Abdullah Yusuf at TTDI mosque last nite for the tahlil of Allahyarham Dato Manan. Dato Abdullah was and is still a working partner of Tunku Zuhri Manan and Abdullah ( now under a different name) I knew all the 3 partners of the legal firm though not very close as your good self except for Dato Abdullah.

Leave a Reply

