Ambiga Sreenevasan is Malaysiakini’s Newsmaker of the Year

December 29, 2012

Ambiga Sreenevasan is Malaysiakini’s Newsmaker of the Year

Every year, for over a decade, Malaysiakini has named a top newsmaker as we bring the curtain down on the year.

AmbigaA newsmaker is defined as ‘someone whose actions make news headlines, who effects the course of public discourse and creates an impact in Malaysian politics, for better or worse’. For 2012, Malaysiakini has nominated 10 individuals for readers to vote on. A total of 697 participated in the five-day survey, opened only to paying subscribers of the news portal.

They voted by indicating their preference for each of the nominees – one vote being the lowest and 10 the highest. Interestingly this time around, Malaysiakini readers paid tribute to the individual who missed out on the newsmaker of the year award last year.

The award goes to…

And the newsmaker of 2011 is former Bar Council chairperson and BERSIH co-coordinator Ambiga Sreenevasan – the woman who launched the mother of all protests.

Perhaps this did not come as a surprise as yesterday, Malaysiakini readers picked the Bersih 3.0 rally as the top news of 2012. PKR Director of Strategy Rafizi Ramli aka ‘cow slayer’ came in second, followed closely by Himpunan Hijau leader Wong Tack.

The following are the full results:

NONE1. S Ambiga – Senior lawyer and Bersih co-coordinator

6,438 votes

NONE2. Rafizi Ramli – PKR Director of Strategy

5,480 votes

NONE3. Wong Tack – Leader of Himpunan Hijau

5,435 votes

NONE4. Dataran Merdeka – the hallowed ground for all Malaysians

5,194 votes

NONE5. A Samad Said – National Laureate and BERSIH co-coordinator

4,993 votes

NONE6. Shahrizat Abdul Jalil and family – Wanita UMNO chief, her husband and three children

4,037 votes

NONE7. Rosmah Mansor – PM Najib Abdul Razak’s wife

3,615 votes

NONE8. Nazri Abdul Aziz – Minister in the PM’s Department

2,416 votes

NONE9. Mahathir Mohamad – former Prime Minister

2,206 votes

NONE10. Chua Tee Yong – Labis MP and MCA Young Professionals Bureau chief

1,676 votes

Previous newsmakers

2011 – Bersih supporters
2010 – Ibrahim Ali
2009 – Teoh Beng Hock
2008 – YOU
2007 – VK Lingam
2006 – Mahathir Mohamad
2005 – Joint award – Rafidah Aziz and Mahathir Mohamad
2004 – S Samy Vellu
2003 – Husam Musa
2002 – Zainuddin Maidin
2001 – Rais Yatim

5 thoughts on “Ambiga Sreenevasan is Malaysiakini’s Newsmaker of the Year

  1. Ambiga you are moving up (if not already) in the limelight. May we ask you to remain a third force as when PKR gets to PJ, your services will still be needed.

  2. May I take up a small space to give my highest respect to Dato Amiga for a woman to stand up against the muddy road that lead for a clean and fair election process…….congratulations to you.

  3. Congratulations to Dato Ambiga for her selection as newsmaker of the year 2012 by readers, you are the right choice! And you have done well too to deserve the appreciation of Malaysians who needed a voice to help them fight for a fair, free elections!

    BTW, what goes around comes around…. while those army veterans were busy rehearsing and performing shaking their butts in front of your house, someone took their pension fund, a clean RM160 million of it, to pay off Deepak and gang for their silence…. padan muka….

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s