Happy Birthday, Cik Cun



May 29,2009

Dear Friends,

 

cik cun @ her office, morning may 30th

cik cun @ her office, morning may 30th

I cannot but feel a little sentimental today. It is for a very special  time for me: it is the morning of my cik cun’s birthday (May 30). The songs I have chosen here reflect my feelings for my wife, Dr. Kamsiah (picture). I hope she enjoys them as much as I have in choosing them to  remember, honour and celebrate the occasion.

Happy Birthday, sweetheart and many happy returns.  I am proud we met. Let me assure you that we will be together for a long, long time.

Those men whose loved ones (married or otherwise) share my cik cun’s birthday, please listen to these songs with your special ones by your side with a glass of orange juice, wine or champagne (depending on your religious injunctions). Forget all the problems of our country and the political screw-ups by politicians in power and enjoy yourself. –DJ Din Merican

Matt Monroe: A Tribute

Andy Williams–For My Cik Cun

Julio Iglesias and Anggun

Frankie  Avalon-Venus

Paul Anka-You are my Destiny

21 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Cik Cun

  1. Cik Cun,

    Anytime you are bored with Din Merican, remember I’m waiting for you here in New York City and should decide to live here I can join you pulling the teeth of New Yorkers. If you get sued for pulling the wrong tooth (it happens) I’m here to defend you. That’s something Din Merican can never hope to do.

    I know Din Merican is not going to thank me for this birthday wish. Hell, he is likely to delete it. He is a man , shall we say, of very sensitive disposition. You and I know that. Oh well ….

    Here’s me singing ‘Diana’. I must warn you. I no longer look like Mr Bean. I have had a make-over. I thought Din Merican was coming over.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY (Never ask a woman what her age is but for me you’ll always be 23).

  2. HAPPY, HAPPY BIRTHDAY Mrs Din……are you offering rock-bottom discount on your birthday? Din, take care of your precious.

  3. Happy Birthday, Dr. Kamsiah. To brother Din, congrats, you have a lovely wife. Take great care of this special dentist.

  4. Lucky fler you are, Dinobeano! Lucky birthday gal you are, dearest Cik Cun! :-) You two seem to be the BEST NEWS this poor country has heard since 916 came & went…

  5. Fellas, thanks for your message of goodwill on the eve of my birthday. I am glad that I have become a member of Din’s bloggers group. I am not much into politics but that does not mean that I am indifferent to all things in our BolehLand. In truth, I am quite disgusted with the political games of both the government (in particular over Perak) and the Opposition.

    Din and I discuss the state of our country, rampant corruption and abuse of power and other matters every day of the week. More often than not, I have to calm Din down each time he is irritated by the antics and follies of the ruling government. He cannot understand why Malaysians are “tidak apa” about how the government manages the economy and development in general and are so kiasu. There are exceptions of course: Tok Cik, Zorro, Antares, Haris Ibrahim, Art Harun, RPK members of the Barisan Rakyat Bloggers and other commentators on his blog. Din is proud to be associated with all of you.

    I don’t celebrate my Birthday. It is no different from any other day in my life. Maybe, I’ll have a quiet dinner with Din and enjoy his attention and company. He told me to tell Mr. Bean to eat his heart out in New York, but he likes the New Yorker very much and keeps trying to figure out his real name. It is just a matter of time when he will discover Bean’s true identity.

  6. “He told me to tell Mr. Bean to eat his heart out in New York, but he likes the New Yorker very much and keeps trying to figure out his real name. It is just a matter of time when he will discover Bean’s true identity” Cik Cun

    I have gone through a couple of make-overs. The latest is what you see in the video. Like I said. I thought he was coming to New York without you.

  7. Cik Cun,

    Tell Din Merican not to paste your pics too many times. It is driving me crazy … !! It is easier to eat my heart out.

  8. “I hope she(Cik Cun) enjoys them as much as I have in choosing them (the songs) to remember, honour and celebrate the occasion. Happy Birthday, sweetheart and many happy returns. I am proud we met. Let me assure you that we will be together for a long, long time.” Din Merican

    Din Merican,

    You sound so restrained and you are not even a Capricorn.

    If I were you I’d be all over Cik Cun! First, I’d be waiting with a bouquet of fresh red roses in hand by the bedside after staying awake the entire night, waiting for her to open her beautiful almond shaped eyes. I’d whisper into her ears “Happy birthday baby!” We would then have breakfast in bed prepared in advance using her favorite recipe. Later I’d have a candle light dinner at an undisclosed location where her many admirers could not find her. That’s just the start!

    A woman is wired differently from man. She needs you to express your emotions and not withhold them. You’re good at doing the latter. On the other hand a woman would like to appear vulnerable. If she appears vulnerable and you emotionless and restrained, then there will not be that chemistry that you need in your marriage.

    That’s when yours truly come in.

  9. Candle light dinner? Now hold that thought.

    Do you know what they say about wine? Here’s one.

    “Men are like fine wine. They all start out like grapes, and it’s our job to stomp on them and keep them in the dark until they mature into something with which you’d like to have dinner with.”

    “Women are like fine wine. They all start out fresh, fruity and intoxicating to the mind and then turn full-bodied with age until they go all sour and vinegary and give you a headache.”

    But of course Cik Cun will always be Cik Cun. Never older than 23 years old.

  10. Oops…! Wretched me, i missed Puan’s birthday.
    “Belated Happy Birthday Dr.Kam, may all goodness and blessings be upon you.
    Bliss to you too Din, for a wife with such blessedness!”

    Bean, how could you? She’s sweet 18, and i swear Din doesn’t look a day over 20, esp besides her… No, i’m not ‘bodeking’…!

  11. You trying to make us jealous, dude? Anyway, happy birthday to your sweetheart and have fun. You inspire us not only with your postings but also your happy marital status. Let’s hope our spirit will be lifted further by Penanti this weekend.

  12. Imwatchinu,

    Marriage is a risky business and failure in that theatre makes one a philosopher (Socrates) as I was once. But experience is a good teacher if one is a willing student. I learned that to succeed one must take one’s spouse seriously, pay attention to her concerns and support her aspirations. This is what I am committed to do with my cik cun.

    Thanks for your good wishes and active participation in this blog.–Din Merican

  13. Din Merican,

    In case things don’t work out between the both of you and should you find yourself in New York City, here’s me in my latest make-over (so you won’t know my real identity) practicing this song just for you.

  14. … and to Cik Cun,

    Should you get bored with Din Merican’s coterie of young girls, (he has a charming personality and it is hard for these girls not to swoon at the thought of being in his company) when you are in London do let me know. Here’s me in another of my make-over in a video I did not too long ago.

    ….

    Something wrong with you I know
    I see it in your eyes
    Believe me when I say
    It’s gonna be okay

    I told you from the start I won’t be demanding
    I won’t be demanding
    ……

    I’ll never try to hold you back
    I wouldn’t try controlling you
    If it’s what you want
    It’s what I want
    …..

    And if there’s something else that you’re looking for
    I’ll be the first to help you try

  15. Cik Cun

    A belated birthday wish. may you both enjoys Allah’s blessings and lead a long and happy life together.

    Din is obviously proud of you and I can sense that whenever I chat with him or at lunch.

    God Bless

Leave a Reply

